Beef Strips with Ampalaya and Tausi

Like any other kid, I used to loathe ampalaya. I remember telling my parents I will give them perfect grades just for them not to make me eat it anymore. Who would have thought that the bitter gourd will turn out to be my most favorite vegetable after the eggplant?

I like it boiled (the small variety… ‘yung ampalayang ligaw) with bagoong na isda with spiced vinegar as sawsawan or sautéed with egg and chicharon. And this, this is my favorite ampalaya dish. Mixed with beef and flavored with tausi.

Just prepare
2 medium ampalaya, sliced
200 grams beef strips
3 tablespoons of tausi
1 tablespoon of oyster sauce
3 cloves of garlic, minced
a small red onion, chopped
1 thumb of ginger, sliced into strips
half a cup of water

img_1165

Saute the garlic and onion and when latter wilts, add beef. Cover the pan so the beef will quick quickly and be juicy. Shake the pan vigorously at least twice so the beef will be evenly cooked. Mix in the rest of the ingredients and cover the pan again and simmer for 3-5 minutes or until ampalaya is cooked.

32e2d211-6750-4a2c-8ee9-eb1759926555

I like this dish dry, with the liquid fully absorbed by the beef. If you like the dish saucy, just ad another half a cup of water and 1 more tablespoon of  oyster sauce. Easy on the tsausi though. The dish might be too salty if you put too much tausi. Remember, it’s salted soybeans.

img_1205

This is best served with white rice. It’s also excellent paired with my other favorite ulam, using my most favorite vegetable– Braised Eggplants with Pork and Shiitake.

4 thoughts on “Beef Strips with Ampalaya and Tausi

  1. Jassy August 7, 2016 / 6:45 am

    I also used to hate ampalaya and nownit’s my favorite. Ganoon yata talaga yun because our tastebuds change. Or baka we hust realize that it’s good for us pala? 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • takawtrip August 7, 2016 / 7:01 am

      Some people dont get over the hatred for it. :p

      Like

  2. Jakey @ Tarot and Coffee August 7, 2016 / 3:53 pm

    Waaah I read this on a late Sunday night. Hunger pangs! I either gotta get some late night snack, or gotta prevent myself from doing so. Good job! Hahah.

    Naalala ko ‘yung pinakaunang reason kung bakit ako nahilig sa ampalaya. Nu’ng bata ako, sabi sa’kin ng kasambay namin, “‘pag kumain ka ng ampalaya, magiging mapait ‘yung dugo mo kaya hindi ka na kakagatin ng mga lamok.”

    But yeah, I also love ampalaya. Nice job what you did with it here. 🙂

    Like

  3. supermaninshorts August 12, 2016 / 11:40 am

    I may be the only person in the country who loved ampalaya with all its glorious bitterness when I was a kid. My lola said whoever will eat amapalaya will get 100pesos and I love money so…

    Like

Leave a Reply

