Braised Eggplants with Pork and Shiitake

I wanted to make Mapo Tofu, but I couldn’t find any good tofu in Cash and Carry so I made the next best thing… for me, at least. :p

This Braised Eggplants with Pork and Shiitake needs–

4 medium-sized eggplants, cut into 1 1/2 inch lenth
4 shiitake mushrooms, sliced
200 grams not-so-lean ground pork
1 red onion, chopped
5 garlic cloves minced
2 stalks of leeks, chopped
1 siling labuyo, chopped
2 tablespoons oyster sauce
1 pack of Lee Kum Kee spicy garlic sauce
half a cup of water
a few drops of sesame oil
a dash of salt

img_1152

Heat the pot/skillet and sauté the garlic, onions and half of the leeks in some oil (I used canola) and when the onions and leeks wilt/garlic turn light grown, mix in the ground pork and sauté until it’s no longer pink. Leave the oil/pork fat and set sautéed pork aside.

Fry the eggplants in oil/pork fat. When it brown and soft, put the pork back and add the mushrooms, spicy garlic sauce, water, oyster sauce and a dash of salt. Mix everything and let it simmer for about 5 minutes.

7207be9d-9031-4589-97cd-c254024e2771

Once cooked, drizzle with some sesame oil. Plate it and garnish with siling labuyo and leeks. I removed the seeds from the sili because much as I love spicy food, my tolerance isn’t Bicolana-level yet. :p

Of course this dish is best served with a big bowl of white rice. I love pairing this ulam with my other favorite ulam– Beef Amapalaya with Tausi. Check out the next entry for the recipe.

img_1191

Grabe. Sobrang good job na good job ako dahil ditto sa Braised Eggplants with Pork and Shiitake. Haha. Don’t mind me. This “buhat ng sariling bangko” hirit is just an inside joke with my friends. :p

3 thoughts on “Braised Eggplants with Pork and Shiitake

  1. Jassy August 7, 2016 / 6:47 am

    I am excited to try this one out! This js also one of my favorite thinga to order when i am in a chinese restaurant. Your version looks absolutely good!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

